Book Review

The Blade Itself

Title: The Blade ItselfAuthor: Joe AbercrombieSeries: First Law #1Published: Orbit (First published May 4, 2016)Pages: 503 (Paperback)Rating: 4/5 So Joe Abercrombie is a giant in the fantasy genre, but I've been putting off reading his books for ages. What if I didn't like them? Would I even be able to call myself an SFF reader? But, I shouldn't have worried. This… Continue reading The Blade Itself

Book Review

House of Salt and Sorrows

Title: House of Salt and SorrowsAuthor: Erin A. CraigPublished: Delacorte (August 6, 2019)Pages: 416 (Hardcover)Rating: 4.5/5 I didn't know much about this book going into it, but it was a Book of the Month selection, and I'm a sucker for a good fairy tale retelling. House of Salt and Sorrows is a loose retelling of The Twleve Dancing Princesses,… Continue reading House of Salt and Sorrows

Book Review

Gods of Jade and Shadow

Title: Gods of Jade and ShadowAuthor: Silvia Moreno-GarciaPublished: Del Rey (July 23, 2019)Pages: 352 (Hardcover)Rating: 5/5 Gods of Jade and Shadow is a gorgeous, #ownvoices historical fantasy set during the Jazz Age and inspired by Mexican Folklore. And, I have no doubt that this book will make my top 10 list this year. “Words are seeds, Casiopea. With words you… Continue reading Gods of Jade and Shadow

Book Review

Wicked Fox

Title: Wicked FoxAuthor: Kat ChoSeries: Gumiho (#1)Published: GP Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers (June 25, 2019)Pages: 429 (Hardcover)Rating: 4/5 Wicked Fox is a fast-paced #ownvoices YA urban fantasy novel based on Korean Mythology. And that cover? Gorgeous. "Gu Miyoung's relationship with the moon was complicated, as are most relationships centered around power." Set in… Continue reading Wicked Fox

Book Review

A Gathering of Shadows

Title: A Gathering of Shadows Author: V.E. Schwab Series: Shades of Magic (#2) Published by: Tor Books (February 23, 2016) Pages: 512 (Hardcover) Rating: 4.5/5 I absolutely adored the first book in this series, A Darker Shade of Magic, so I knew I just had to pick this book up. And, I wasn't disappointed. This is such a fantastic installment in the series… Continue reading A Gathering of Shadows

Book Review

A Darker Shade of Magic

Title: A Darker Shade of Magic Author: V.E. Schwab Series: Shades of Magic (#1) Published by: Tor Books (February 24, 2015) Pages: 400 (Hardcover) Rating: 4.5/5 A Darker Shade of Magic is my first V.E. Schwab book, but it definitely won't be my last. I absolutely love her writing style- and I adore the characters she's created. “Kell wore a very peculiar coat.… Continue reading A Darker Shade of Magic

Book Review

The Bear and the Nightingale

Title: The Bear and the Nightingale Author: Katherine Arden Published by: Del Rey (January 17, 2017) Pages: 336 (Hardcover) Rating: 5/5 The Bear and the Nightingale was on my list of most anticipated debuts. The blurb sounded fascinating, and it was recommended for fans of The Night Circus and Uprooted. Both of which I love. So, I knew I was going… Continue reading The Bear and the Nightingale